In New York, if you are convicted of a first-time DWI (Driving While Intoxicated), you will likely have to pay a fine as part of the penalties imposed. The amount of the fine depends on the specifics of your case, including your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) at the time of the arrest. Here’s a general overview of fines for first-time DWI offenses in New York:
1.First-time DWI offense with a BAC of 0.08% or higher but less than 0.18%:
- Fines ranging from $500 to $1,000
2.First-time DWI offense with a BAC of 0.18% or higher (Aggravated DWI):
- Fines ranging from $1,000 to $2,500
3.First-time DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired) by alcohol, with a BAC of more than 0.05% but less than 0.07%, or other evidence of impairment:
- Fines ranging from $300 to $500
In addition to fines, first-time DWI offenders may also face other penalties, such as jail time, license revocation, mandatory alcohol education or treatment programs, and the installation of an ignition interlock device on their vehicle. It is important to consult with an attorney familiar with New York DWI laws to understand the potential consequences of a first-time DWI charge in your specific situation.
If you are convicted of a first-time misdemeanor DWI the fine will range from $500 to $2500. The fine assessed by the court depends on the facts of your case and the subsection of the Vehicle and Traffic law that you’re convicted under.
Dont let a DWI
ruin your life
For example, convictions for 1192(3), 1192(2), 1192(4) or 1192(4)(a), the fine will range from $500 to $1000. If you are convicted of Aggravated DWI, under 1192(2)(a), the fine will range from $1000-$2500. For first time felony convictions, the fine ranges from $1000 to $10,000.